2014 M. Wynn Thomas Prize Winners awarded full Library of Wales range!

This year’s winners of the M. Wynn Thomas prize, a celebration of excellence in the field of Welsh writing in English, were awarded last Friday during the annual conference by AWWE ‘In/Dependent Wales’, held in Gregynog Hall.
Dr Matthew Jarvis (Aberystwyth University/University of Wales Trinity St David) and Lisa Sheppard (Cardiff University) won respectively in the ‘Open’ and ‘New Scholars’ categories, and both received a £150 prize along with a full set of the Library of Wales books series, courtesy of Parthian.
The panel, which included Professor Diana Wallace (University of South Wales), Dr Tomos Owen (Bangor University) and Dr Alyce von Rothkirch (Swansea University), is reported to be “very pleased with the quality of the submissions”, as well as “impressed with the increasing international reach of this prize. Submissions came from Wales, England, Ireland and the USA”.
The Association of Welsh Writing in English, originated in 1984 on initiative of five major Welsh universities, is aimed at preserving and promoting Welsh studies as evidence of important cultural diversity in the academic world.

Translate Into...

English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish